St Luke's Make a Will Month

make_a_will_campaign

A Will is often the most important document that you will ever write, or be involved in writing. It is likely to be the piece of paper that has the most influence on the way your affairs are handled after your death. In Britain approximately 1 in 3 individuals die intestate, without making a will, and the government benefits every year from unclaimed estates.

Writing a Will and keeping it up to date is the only way to ensure that your possessions will be distributed as you wish, it gives you the opportunity to control what happens to your property after your death. It is also the time to appoint an executor to deal with your affairs when you die. 

If you write a will during St Luke's 'Make a Will' month you can ensure your loved ones are looked after and the hospice will benefit at no extra cost to you. Each year St Luke’s runs its successful 'Make A Will' month with the help of local firms from across Harrow and Brent. Our 2017 campaign will run for the month of September.

How does it work?

Participating firms will either donate a percentage of their fee to St Luke’s for the preparation of any basic standard or mirror will or waive their regular fee for making or amending a Will in exchange for a donation to our hospice.

Fees for making a Will vary but on average firms charge £250 for a single Will, £400 for mirror Wills and £100 for a codicil. 

There is no obligation to include St Luke’s in your will, but if you choose to do so, we would be very grateful. Including a gift to St Luke’s will help us to ensure that people with life-threatening illnesses within our local community are looked after in years to come. Our hospice needs to raise more than £3.5m each year and every donation received as part of our campaign will help to fund St Luke’s specialist end-of-life care.

Participating firms for 2017:

Firms providing a free service in exchange for a donation to St Luke’s:

Julia Newland, Garside & Hoy Solicitors
21-23 The Bridge, Wealdstone, Harrow, HA3 5AG
020 8427 5656
julia.newland@garsideandhoy.co.uk

Sangeeta Rabadia, Pindoria Solicitors
502-504 Honeypot Lane, Stanmore, HA7 1JR
020  8951 6959
sangeeta@pindorialaw.com

Rebekah Hillman, Hillman Legal Partnerships
91 Weston Park, London, N8 9PR
020 8340 3102
rebekah@hillmanlegal.co.uk

Firms donating a percentage of their fee to St Luke's:

Shandip Shah (Will Writer), Balance Consultancy
Devonshire House, 582 Honeypot Lane, Stanmore, HA7 1JS
020 3837 0099 or 07780 690432
shandip@balanceconsultancy.co.uk
50%

Malcolm Turner, The Sethi Partnership Solicitors
The Barn House, 38 Meadow Way, Eastcote, HA4 8TB
020 8866 6464
malcolm@sethi.co.uk
50%

Malcolm Muir, Mills Chody Solicitors
226-228 Kenton Road, Harrow, Middlesex, HA3 8BZ
020 8909 0408 
mmuir@millschody.com
50%

Simi Gupta/Shamin Ibrahim, Ansham White Solicitors
Harrow Business Centre, 429-433 Pinner Road, North Harrow, Middlesex, HA1 4HN
020 8634 5850
simi@anshamwhite.com or info@anshamwhite.com
50%

Alpa Patel, David Tracey or Anousha Kandiah, Redferns Solicitors
9 Churchill Court, Harrow, Middlesex, HA2 7SA
020 8424 7070/020 8424 7043
apatel@redfernssolicitors.co.uk or dtracey@redfernssolicitors.co.uk or akandiah@redfernssolicitors.co.uk
£100 per instruction

Kiran Shah, Lotus benefits Consultants Ltd
Devonshire House, 582 Honeypot Lane, Stanmore, HA7 1JS
020 3745 5955 & 07976 350229
info@lotusifa.co.uk
30%

Grazyna Scotford & Patricia Alleyne, Lynch, Hall & Hornby Solicitors
23 Peterborough Road, Harrow, HA1 2BD
020 8872 8819 & 020 8872 8806
grazyna.scotford@lynch-hall.co.uk or patricia.alleyne@lynch-hall.co.uk
25%

Jonathan Lemon, Curry Popeck Solicitors
380 Kenton Road, Harrow, HA3 8DP
020 8907 2000
jlemon@currypopeck.com
15%

Make A Will Month Seminars

To support our Make A Will Month 2017 we have arranged some seminars at Kenton Grange which will be presented by local experts at the hospice. Whilst the seminars are provided free, spaces are limited so booking is required.

Wednesday, 30th August 2017: 'Inheritance Tax' (5:30pm)
Friday, 1st September 2017: 'Inheritance Tax' (5:30pm)
Monday, 4th September 2017: ' Wills' (5:30pm)
Friday, 8th September 2017: 'Lasting Power of Attorney' (6:00pm)
Monday, 11th September 2017: 'Executors & Gifts' (5:30pm)
Monday, 18th September 2017: 'Wills' (6:00pm)
Friday, 22nd September 2017: 'Lasting Power of Attorney' (5:30pm)


For more information please contact Zahra Wahab on 020 8382 8097 or email zwahab@stlukes-hospice.org.